Renard Centre of Marine Geology
Department of Geology and Soil Science, Universiteit Gent

  Staff
Prof. Dr. Marc DE BATIST, Geologist, Full Professor
E-mail: Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4587
Marine geology/geophysics, limnogeology, paleoseismology, paleoclimatology, shallow gas and gashydrates
Prof. Dr. David VAN ROOIJ, Geologist, Lecturer
E-mail:
David.VanRooij@UGent.be 
URL: ResearcherID

Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4583
Contourite drifts, cold-water coral ecosystems, deep-water sedimentology, seismic stratigraphy
Prof. Dr. Jean-Pierre HENRIET, Geologist/Geophysicist, Emeritus Professor
E-mail: JeanPierre.Henriet@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4585


Carbonate mounds and controls, recent versus ancient, Ocean at birth, Afar
Dr. Sébastien BERTRAND, Geologist, Post-doctoral fellow FWO
E-mail: sebastien.bertrand@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4637

Paleoclimatology, sediment geochemistry, fjords, Patagonia
Dr. Hui CHEN, Geologists, Post-doctoral fellow
E-mail: hui.chen.cug@gmail.com
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Deep-water sedimentation, contourites, South China Sea
Dr. Inka MEYER, Geographer, Scientific Personnel
E-mail: Inka.Meyer@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4637


Clastic sediments, provenance studies, grain size, paleoenvironments of Africa
Dr. Tine MISSIAEN, Physicist - Quaternary Scientist, Scientific Personnel
E-mail: Tine.Missiaen@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4571


Shallow marine seismics, intertidal, submerged landscapes, geoarcheology
Dr. Andres RÜGGEBERG, Geologist, Scientific Personnel
E-mail: Andres.Ruggeberg@UGent.be 
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4589

Cold-water coral ecosystems, geochemistry, (paleo-)oceanography, water chemistry
Dr. Maarten VAN DAELE, Geologist, Post-doctoral fellow FWO
E-mail:
Maarten.VanDaele@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573

Turbidites, paleoseismology, limnogeology, X-ray computed tomography
Dr. Agostina VERTINO, Geologist, Associated Post-doctoral Collaborator
E-mail: agostina.vertino@unimib.it
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4594
Evelien BOES, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Evelien.Boes@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590


Paleoseismology, tsunami, lake sediments, Nankai Trough
Vasileios CHADEMENOS, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Vasileios.Chademenos@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584


Geology, geoarchaeology, voxel modeling, North Sea

Tim COLLART, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Tim.Collart@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4589

Cold-water coral mounds,  Bay of Biscay, submarine canyons, palaeoceanography

Maikel DE CLERCQ, Geologist, Ph.D. student IWT
E-mail: Maikel.DeClercq@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584


North Sea, geoarchaeology, seismics, sedimentology
Stanislas DELIVET, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Stanislas.Delivet@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4589


Sedimentology, palaeoceanography, seismic and borehole stratigraphy
Koen DE RYCKER, Seismic engineer, Technical Personnel
E-mail:
Koen.DeRycker@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4593


Geophysical equipment, acoustics, sediment coring
David GARCIA MORENO, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: David.GarciaMoreno@oma.be
Phone : +32 (0)2 373 0340
Edna HÜTTEN, Administrator, Associated Collaborator
E-mail: Edna.Hutten@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4594
Carmen JUAN VALENZUELA, Geologist, Scientific Personnel
E-mail:
Carmen.JuanValenzuela@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4596

Contourite drifts, seismic stratigraphy, paleoceanography, deep-water sedimentology, ferromanganese nodules
Philipp KEMPF, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Philipp.Kempf@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573

Tsunami, paleoseismology, age-depth modelling, postglacial environment reconstruction
Kainan MAO, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Kainan.Mao@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Deep-water sedimentology, seismic stratigraphy, South China Sea
Sonia PAPILI, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Sonia.Papili@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4589
Nore PRAET, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Nore.Praet@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573


Paleoseismology, lake sediments, seismic stratigraphy, Alaska
Elke VANDEKERKHOVE, Geologist, Scientific Personnel
E-mail: Elke.Vandekerkhove@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590


Lake sediments, andosols, Chile, Alaska
Thomas VANDORPE, Geologist, Assistant
E-mail:
Thomas.Vandorpe@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Seismic stratigraphy, contourite deposits, southern Gulf of Cadiz, CT scans
Mario Enrique VELOSO ALARCON, Physicist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: MarioEnrique.VelosoAlarcon@UGent.be

Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590


Underwater acoustics, climate change, methane seeps, gas hydrates
Oscar ZURITA HURTADO, Geophysicist, Technical Personnel
E-mail: Oscar.ZuritaHurtado@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4596


HR marine seismic reflection, seismic data processing, paleolandscapes

 Back to home page          Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be          Last update: 01 oktober 2014