Renard Centre of Marine Geology
Department of Geology, Universiteit Gent

  Staff
Prof. Dr. Marc DE BATIST, Geologist, Senior Full Professor
E-mail: Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4587
Marine geology/geophysics, limnogeology, paleoseismology, paleoclimatology, shallow gas and gashydrates
Prof. Dr. David VAN ROOIJ, Geologist, Associate Professor
E-mail:
David.VanRooij@UGent.be 
URL: ResearcherID

Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4583
Contourite drifts, cold-water coral ecosystems, deep-water sedimentology, seismic stratigraphy
Prof. Dr. Sébastien BERTRAND, Geologist, Assistant Professor
E-mail: sebastien.bertrand@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4637

Paleoclimatology, sediment geochemistry, fjords, Patagonia
Prof. Dr. Jean-Pierre HENRIET, Geologist/Geophysicist, Emeritus Professor
E-mail: JeanPierre.Henriet@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4585


Carbonate mounds and controls, recent versus ancient, Ocean at birth, Afar
Dr. Carmen JUAN VALENZUELA, Geologist, Scientific Personnel
E-mail:
Carmen.JuanValenzuela@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4596

Contourite drifts, seismic stratigraphy, paleoceanography, deep-water sedimentology, ferromanganese nodules
Dr. Philipp KEMPF, Geologist
E-mail: Philipp.Kempf@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573

Tsunami, paleoseismology, age-depth modelling, postglacial environment reconstruction
Dr. Inka MEYER, Geographer, Scientific Personnel
E-mail: Inka.Meyer@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4637


Clastic sediments, provenance studies, grain size, paleoenvironments of Africa
Dr. Tine MISSIAEN, Physicist - Quaternary Scientist, Scientific Personnel
E-mail: Tine.Missiaen@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4571


Shallow marine seismics, intertidal, submerged landscapes, geoarcheology
Dr. Maarten VAN DAELE, Geologist, Post-doctoral fellow FWO
E-mail:
Maarten.VanDaele@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573

Turbidites, paleoseismology, limnogeology, X-ray computed tomography
Dr. Agostina VERTINO, Geologist, Associated collaborator
E-mail:
Agostina.Vertino@UGent.be
Phone :
+32 (0)9 264 4589


Cold-water corals, habitat mapping
Evelien BOES, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Evelien.Boes@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4596


Paleoseismology, tsunami deposits, varves, lake sediments
Vasileios CHADEMENOS, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Vasileios.Chademenos@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584


Geology, geoarchaeology, voxel modeling, North Sea

Tim COLLART, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Tim.Collart@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4589

Cold-water coral mounds,  Bay of Biscay, submarine canyons, palaeoceanography

Eleonora CRESCENZI LANNA, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Eleonora.CrescenziLanna@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Hydrology, Sediment geochemistry, Fjords, Chilean Patagonia

Maikel DE CLERCQ, Geologist, Ph.D. student IWT
E-mail: Maikel.DeClercq@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584


North Sea, geoarchaeology, seismics, sedimentology
Stanislas DELIVET, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Stanislas.Delivet@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4589


Sedimentology, palaeoceanography, seismic and borehole stratigraphy
Koen DE RYCKER, Seismic engineer, Technical Personnel
E-mail:
Koen.DeRycker@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4593


Geophysical equipment, acoustics, sediment coring
David GARCIA MORENO, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
David.GarciaMoreno@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584

Quaternary Geology, paleogeography, active tectonics, paleoseismology, seismic risks and hazards
Zakaria GHAZOUI, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Zakaria.Ghazoui@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4637


Paleoclimatology, monsoon, Himalaya-Nepal, lake sediments
Dawei LIU, Oceanographer, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Dawei.Liu@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Marine geochemistry, Geochemistry, Chemical oceanography
Shan LIU, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Shan.Liu@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Contourites, Bay of Biscay, palaeoceanography, seismic stratigraphy 
Thomas MESTDAGH, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Thomas.Mestdagh@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590


Contourites, North Atlantic, sequence stratigraphy
Giacomo MONTEREALE-GAVAZZI, Marine Ecologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: GiacomoOttavianoAndrea.MonterealeGavazzi@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584


sea-floor characterisation, benthic habitat mapping, hydroacoustics
Sonia PAPILI, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Sonia.Papili@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264
4584
Loic PIRET, Geologist, Assistant
E-mail:
Loic.Piret@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Glacier dynamics, sedimentology, Patagonia
Nore PRAET, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Nore.Praet@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573


Alaskan paleoseismology, lake sediments, seismic stratigraphy,
turbidites
Elke VANDEKERKHOVE, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Elke.Vandekerkhove@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590

Glacial lake outburst floods, sedimentology, paleoclimatology, Patagonia, Alaska
Thomas VANDORPE, Geologist, Assistant
E-mail:
Thomas.Vandorpe@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Seismic stratigraphy, contourite deposits, southern Gulf of Cadiz, CT scans
Bart VLEMINCKX, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: bart.vleminckx@observatory.be
Phone : +32 (0)2 373 0314


Seismic hazard analysis, geological disposal
An WEI, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: An.Wei
@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590


Fault system, rift-basin, seismic stratigraphy, South China Sea
Katleen WILS, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Katleen.Wils@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573


Interseismic deformation, earthquakes, modelling, Chile
Oscar ZURITA HURTADO, Geophysicist, Technical Personnel
E-mail: Oscar.ZuritaHurtado@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4596


HR marine seismic reflection, seismic data processing, paleolandscapes

 Back to home page          Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be          Last update: 31 oktober 2016